Shopping cart

Sirens & Muses: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Sirens & Muses: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order.

Description


Four artists are drawn into a web of rivalry and desire at an elite art school and on the streets of New York in this magnificent debut for fans of Writers & Lovers and The Goldfinch.

“Captures the ache-inducing quality of art and desire . . . a deeply relatable and profoundly enjoyable read, one drenched in prismatic color and light.”—Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author of With Teeth


It’s 2011: America is in a deep recession and Occupy Wall Street is escalating. But at the elite Wrynn College of Art, students paint and sculpt in a rarefied bubble. Louisa Arceneaux is a thoughtful, observant nineteen-year-old when she transfers to Wrynn as a scholarship student, but she soon finds herself adrift in an environment that prizes novelty over beauty. Complicating matters is Louisa’s unexpected attraction to her charismatic roommate, Karina Piontek, the preternaturally gifted but mercurial daughter of wealthy art collectors. Gradually, Louisa and Karina are drawn into an intense sensual and artistic relationship, one that forces them to confront their deepest desires and fears. But Karina also can’t shake her fascination with Preston Utley, a senior and anti-capitalist Internet provocateur, who is publicly feuding with visiting professor and political painter Robert Berger—a once-controversial figurehead seeking to regain relevance.   
  
When Preston concocts an explosive hoax, the fates of all four artists are upended as each is unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat New York art world. Now all must struggle to find new identities in art, in society, and among each other. In the process, they must find either their most authentic terms of life—of success, failure, and joy—or risk losing themselves altogether. 
 
With a canny, critical eye, Sirens & Muses overturns notions of class, money, art, youth, and a generation’s fight to own their future.

About the Author


Antonia Angress was born in Los Angeles and raised in San José, Costa Rica. She is a graduate of Brown University and the University of Minnesota MFA program, where she was a Winifred Fiction Fellow and a College of Liberal Arts Fellow. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband, the artist Connor McManus. Sirens & Muses is her first novel.

Praise For…


“Donna Tartt’s The Secret History meets Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings in this entrancing portrait of 3 young artists who meet at an elite college at the height of the Occupy movement. Angress so deftly portrays the splendor and squalor of trying to create something great in the face of rampant capitalism, of love and lust in the face of tooth-and-claw competition.”—Electric Lit

“Antonia Angress has written her exceedingly good debut novel, a shrewd and expertly sustained rumination on what it takes to be a self-supporting artist and whether it’s even worth it. . . . Gripping . . . [A] dazzler of a debut novel.”Shelf Awareness

“Antonia Angress is so talented, and her depiction of young artists—with their egos and inspirations and ambitions—is unforgettably impressive. Read. This. Book.”—Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members and The Shakespeare Requirement

“Brilliant . . . This narrative is intricate, moving, and often funny, and its scenes are beautifully crafted. . . . A wonderful book.”—Charles Baxter, author of The Sun Collective

Sirens & Muses features characters as flawed as they are talented—full of desire, ambition, and aching regret. Their journeys engrossed me till the very last page.”—Dawnie Walton, author of The Final Revival of Opal & Nev

“Powerful, elegant, and mesmerizing, Sirens & Muses reimagines ambition, passion, identity, and the intricate bonds between women. Antonia Angress is a writer to watch.”—Margaret Wilkerson Sexton, author of The Revisioners

Sirens & Muses captivated me with its well-drawn, complex characters and vivid descriptions and settings. Antonia Angress is a keen observer of relationships, and this is a gorgeously rich and thoughtful novel.”—Annie Hartnett, author of Rabbit Cake and Unlikely Animals

“With wit, tenderness, and insight, Sirens & Muses explores why art matters, who gets to make it, and what it’s worth. Antonia Angress’s portrayal of the art world and its politics is stunning in its detail and inventiveness—and Louisa Arceneaux is a heroine to remember.”—V. V. Ganeshananthan, author of Love Marriage

“A page-turning, sexy, witty dive into making art and the art world and just how great the chasm is that lies in-between . . . This thoroughly modern novel explores classic themes of class, talent, and power and introduces Antonia Angress as a thrilling new voice.”—Joanna Hershon, author of St. Ivo

“[A] winning debut . . . Angress nimbly embodies each of her characters, allowing her exceptional storytelling abilities to shine. . . . [Sirens & Muses] is a standout.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“An intriguing exploration of art and wealth spearheaded by messy, engrossing characters.”Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593496435
ISBN-10: 0593496434
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.