Knife: Meditations After an Attempted Murder (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Knife: Meditations After an Attempted Murder By Salman Rushdie Cover Image
Available, order here for delivery or pickup.
On hand as of Jun 15 6:47pm

Staff Reviews

Knife is Salman Rushdie’s account of the attempt on his life by a knife-wielding assassin on August 12, 2022, in Chautauqua, New York, 30 years after the fatwah was issued against him. Rushdie recounts in stunning detail that horrific day and its aftermath, writing this book as a restorative, cathartic act to help him come to terms with what happened and get on with his writing life. It is a love story, a story of a fierce determination to “remain functional, loving and present”, to “sing in the face of horror”, and while his story is uplifting, incredibly personal and deeply moving, it is so much more than a singular memoir of personal struggle and recovery. Using the idea of “knife as metaphor” and addressing religion head-on (for the last time, he says!), Rushdie makes clear that the violence unleashed against him is part of a bigger narrative of a world in crisis, a world awash in false narratives based on religious sectarianism and political authoritarianism, where free thought is under assault. In Knife he fights back against the false narratives of tyrants and populists and weaponized religion around the world. A thrilling read, a passionate book filled with insight, Ed loved and highly recommends!

— Ed


From internationally renowned writer and Booker Prize winner Salman Rushdie, a searing, deeply personal account of enduring—and surviving—an attempt on his life thirty years after the fatwa that was ordered against him
Speaking out for the first time, and in unforgettable detail, about the traumatic events of August 12, 2022, Salman Rushdie answers violence with art, and reminds us of the power of words to make sense of the unthinkable. Knife is a gripping, intimate, and ultimately life-affirming meditation on life, loss, love, art—and finding the strength to stand up again.

About the Author

Salman Rushdie is the author of fifteen novels—Luka and the Fire of Life; Grimus; Midnight’s Children (for which he won the Booker Prize and the Best of the Booker); Shame; The Satanic Verses; Haroun and the Sea of Stories; The Moor’s Last Sigh; The Ground Beneath Her Feet; Fury; Shalimar the Clown; The Enchantress of Florence; Two Years, Eight Months, and Twenty-Eight Nights; The Golden House; Quichotte (which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize); and Victory City—and one collection of short stories: East, West. He has also published five works of nonfiction—The Jaguar Smile; Imaginary Homelands; Step Across This Line; Joseph Anton; and Languages of Truth—and coedited two anthologies, Mirrorwork and Best American Short Stories 2008. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University. A former president of PEN American Center, Rushdie was knighted in 2007 for services to literature.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780593730249
ISBN-10: 0593730240
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English