Shopping cart

The Honeys (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Honeys By Ryan La Sala Cover Image
$18.99
Available, order here for delivery or pickup.
On hand as of Nov 29 7:03pm

Staff Reviews


The Honeys by Ryan La Sala is an enticing story of horror and self-empowerment. Mars and their sister Caroline were inseparable as children, but as they grew up things changed, and at the core of that change was the prestigious Aspen Summer Academy. So when a deranged Caroline tries to kill Mars, only to then fall to her death, they decide to go back to Aspen and uncover the real reason for this tragedy. But once there, they are faced with the subtle terrors of their past, as well as the dazzling group of powerful girls that their sister belonged to – The Honeys. And as Mars realizes they can’t even trust their own memories the horrors lurking under the surface of Aspen threaten to overcome their resolve to find answers. The Honeys is a tale of complicated sibling love, facing the demons of one’s past, and refusing to bend before a society thriving on micro-aggressions and oppressive norms.

— Simeon

Description


From Ryan La Sala, the wildly popular author of Reverie, comes a twisted and tantalizing horror novel set amidst the bucolic splendor of a secluded summer retreat.

Mars has always been the lesser twin, the shadow to his sister Caroline's radiance. But when Caroline dies under horrific circumstances, Mars is propelled to learn all he can about his once-inseparable sister who'd grown tragically distant.

Mars's genderfluidity means he's often excluded from the traditions -- and expectations -- of his politically-connected family. This includes attendance at the prestigious Aspen Conservancy Summer Academy where his sister poured so much of her time. But with his grief still fresh, he insists on attending in her place.

What Mars finds is a bucolic fairytale not meant for him. Folksy charm and sun-drenched festivities camouflage old-fashioned gender roles and a toxic preparatory rigor. Mars seeks out his sister's old friends: a group of girls dubbed the Honeys, named for the beehives they maintain behind their cabin. They are beautiful and terrifying -- and Mars is certain they're connected to Caroline's death.

But the longer he stays at Aspen, the more the sweet mountain breezes give way to hints of decay. Mars’s memories begin to falter, bleached beneath the relentless summer sun. Something is hunting him in broad daylight, toying with his mind. If Mars can't find it soon, it will eat him alive.

About the Author


Ryan La Sala writes about surreal things happening to queer people. He is the author of Reverie and Be Dazzled and lives in New York City. Visit him online at ryanlasala.com.

Praise For…


"La Sala gives real-life fears a supernatural twist, cleverly using folk horror and psychological-thriller elements to heighten Mars’ understandable tension and infuse this idyllic location with dread....The eerily ambivalent conclusion is pure horror gold."

—Booklist, starred review

"A dark and redolent tale of familial bonds, grief, and a secretive summer camp tucked away in the heart of forests vast and dizzyingly wild. THE HONEYS creeped me out and I loved every moment of it."

—Erin A. Craig, NYT bestselling author of HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS

"Novel after novel, La Sala proves himself to be a powerhouse in the YA space worthy of all the flowers that come his way. With crisp prose, a hauntingly stellar cast, and a main character we can't help but root for, THE HONEYS is a perfect successor for fans of MIDSOMMAR and HEREDITARY chomping at the bit for their next great obsession. Just, watch out for the bees."

—Kosoko Jackson, author of YESTERDAY IS HISTORY

"The queer horror hive has a new queen! In THE HONEYS, La Sala pulls readers into a darkly poetic, razor-sharp satire of gender binaries—and the binary of good and evil. A grim, beautiful exploration of the human body, its horrific surprises as well as its transcendent power."

—Adam Sass, award-winning author of SURRENDER YOUR SONS and THE 99 BOYFRIENDS OF MICAH SUMMERS

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338745313
ISBN-10: 133874531X
Publisher: PUSH
Publication Date: August 16th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.