Titus Alone (Paperback)

Titus Alone By Mervyn Peake Cover Image
Not in stock. Order here for delivery or to pickup later.


Titus Alone is the conclusion of Mervyn Peake’s celebrated fantasy Gormenghast Trilogy.
Introduction by David Louis Edelman
As the novel opens, Titus, lord of Castle Gormenghast, has abdicated his throne. Born and brought to the edge of manhood in the huge, rotting castle, Titus rebels against the age-old ritual of which he is both lord and prisoner and rushes headlong into the world. From that moment forward, he is thrust into a stormy land of a dark imagination, where figures and landscapes loom up with the force and vividness of a dream—or a nightmare.
This final installment in the Gormenghast Trilogy is a fantastic triumph—a conquest awash in imagination, terror, and charm.
The Gormenghast Trilogy:
Titus Groan
Titus Alone

About the Author

Mervyn Peake (1911–1968) was a playwright, painter, poet, illustrator, short story writer, and designer of theatrical costumes, as well as a novelist. Among his many books are the celebrated Gormenghast novels, Titus Groan, Gormenghast, and Titus Alone, and the posthumously published Titus Awakes, the lost book of Gormenghast finished by Peake’s wife Maeve Gilmore after his death. The Gormenghast novels, as well as Peake’s other writings, Mr. Pye and Peake’s Progress, are all available from The Overlook Press.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781585679928
ISBN-10: 1585679925
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication Date: March 25th, 2008
Pages: 224
Language: English